Annas time in Saboo

I am not sure how to put this eight weeks in Ladakh into a few words. I discovered the culture and happily met the children, staff and monks.
I'll never forget about the warmth everbody showed towards me. Not only teaching the children was fun but also to plan activities and to put them into action was a great experience. It was fantastic to get to know the daily routine of the children at Ngari Institute and also to gain an insight into the life of a monk or of the local people. That's why my stay was diversified as well as exciting. Saying goodbye was sad, but on my farewell everyone was dancing and also happy about this great time together.
I would love to visit N.I.B.D. again.
Many thanks for everything!

Your Anna

Visit of His Holiness, the 14th Dalai Lama at NIBD

On August 8, 2016 His Holiness the 14th Dalai Lama came to visit NIBD and I was lucky enough to be there and experience his amazing presence during my stay at NIBD as a volunteer.
The purpose of his visit was the official inauguration of the Institute and of course blessing it. It was his first visit ever since he strongly advocated for its existence when the local monks wanted to engage in the reconstruction of the village temple after the devastating mudslides back in 2010. His Holiness suggested the construction of an orphanage instead, for all the children who became orphans during this terrible event and to also give children a home who come from poor families. Therefore strengthening the community and helping it in a major way. Ever since, he has been involved in this project as the spiritual leader and mentor.

Days before his actual visit, all the villagers from Saboo, Ladakh came to the institute to help: planting and watering flowers, cementing a pathway up to the monk’s hostel where the ceremony was going to be held, putting up flags, cleaning, cooking, you name it. Such a strong sense of community and serving is very rare!

_d1a3361_d1a3462bea

Knowing a little bit about His Holiness, the Tibetan history and buddhism, I thought I wouldn’t be much surprised by his radiating presence, thinking of the countless documentaries and interviews I’ve seen about him.
But I was wrong! I don’t know what happened but I swear I could feel his energy and presence even before he arrived and before I could see him. Then he finally arrived…sitting on his specially decorated throne (for lack of a better word), smiling contently, joking and topping all of his likeability with an immensely profound and deep teaching about buddhist philosophy and the human condition.
I could understand his massive influence just by this one hour sitting there and listing to his speech. He is an absolutely fascinating person, with a very unique sense of humor.
It was so beautiful to watch him enjoy observing NIBD’s senior students reciting the His Holiness’ Long Life Prayer, a prayer to honor His Holiness.
But one incident moved me the most, when Geshe Tsewang, NIBD’s president mentioned the two Nepalese boys NIBD took in a little while ago and their very moving story of how they became orphans, His Holiness asked them to come up to him to shake his hand and therefore receive a very special blessing from the highest Tibetan spiritual leader. What a beautiful gesture!
What was very clearly displayed in that moment was this man’s big heart! But also his humor, like I said, a very unique one. Btw.. I was still taken by his very unique laughter, which he is known for all over the world. During his speech, Geshe Tsewang translated his speech into Ladakhi, the local language spoken by the villagers who were all present. Geshe Tsewang did some minor translation mistakes which His Holiness with a big smirk, rewarded with a little hit over the Geshe’s head…twice… Geshe Tsewang later commented with laughter and said it was a very special blessing from His Holiness.
After then planting a tree at NIBD, His Holiness left with his entourage of security after his one hour visit, but this one hour has been stored in my memory forever. What a special person!!

By Denise Woelpern

Denise time in Saboo

I stayed in Saboo, Ladakh as a volunteer for almost four months. And it was the most memorable time: almost fifty loving children exploding with energy and happiness, calm and collected monks, surrounded by the buddhist philosophy and what is probably the most beautiful landscape in the world, the Himalaya Mountains.
It is definitely a big contrast to what we know and how we live here in the West. Water is a scarce resource, you have to adapt to changing circumstances, give way, of course, to the freely roaming cows, and most of all observing how these beautiful children make toys out what we would throw away like plastic caps of bottles and strings they found and excitingly showing these to me. I am so grateful to have been able to experience this.
Teaching English was fun but honestly most of all I enjoyed spending time with the kids playing volleyball and teaching them some vocals. To see them express themselves in their creativity was extremely rewarding.
NIBD, the monk and staff and all the beautiful children are very dear to me and I can’t wait to go back and visit. As a sponsor, volunteer or just a guest you are considered family and that’s how I felt during these four months.

Your Denise

Annas Zeit in Saboo

Meine acht Wochen in Ladakh lassen sich nur schwer in Worte fassen. Ich habe die Kultur, die Kinder, die Mönche und Angestellten kennen- und lieben gelernt.
Die Herzlichkeit, die mir in der Zeit entgegen gebracht wurde, werde ich niemals vergessen. Nicht nur das Unterrichten hat mir viel Freude bereitet, auch die Freizeitaktivitäten mit den Kindern zu planen und zu begleiten war eine wundervolle Erfahrung. Dadurch dass ich nicht nur den Tagesablauf der Kinder am Ngari Institut kennenlernen durfte, sondern ebenso Einblicke in das Leben als Mönch bzw. der Einheimischen bekam, war mein Aufenthalt sehr abwechslungsreich und aufregend zugleich. Ein Abschied mit Lachen, Tanzen und vielen Tränen hätte nicht schöner sein können.
Es ist mein großer Wunsch, das Institut bald wieder besuchen zu können.
Vielen Dank für alles!
Eure Anna

Der Besuch des Dalai Lama im NIBD

Am 8. August 2016, kam His Holiness der 14. Dalai Lama zu Besuch ins Ngari Institute of Buddhist Dialectics, wo ich zu dem Zeitpunkt als Volunteer tätig war.

Der Zweck dieses hohen Besuchs war die Einweihung des relativ neu gegründeten Instituts und dessen Segnung durch den Dalai Lama, Tibet’s spirituelles Oberhaupt. Es war der wohl erste Besuch des Dalai Lama seit dessen Gründung in 2010. Nach der verheerenden Flutkatastrophe in 2010, unter welcher das Dorf Saboo erheblich litt, wollten einige der lokalen Mönche das zerstörte Kloster wieder aufbauen, jedoch auf Empfehlung des Dalai Lama wurde stattdessen ein Waisenhaus gebaut für diejenigen Kinder, die durch das schreckliche Ereignis obdachlos geworden sind. Seitdem ist der Dalai Lama der spirituelle Führer und Mentor des Instituts und nun kam er zu Besuch, um es einzuweihen.

_d1a3361_d1a3462bea

Nachdem ich bereits etwas vertraut war mit der Person, Dalai Lama, und der buddhistischen Philosophie, zumindest durch die zahlreiche Dokumentationen und Interviews, die ich im Vorwege gesehen hatte, war ich am Ende jedoch komplett überwältigt von seiner Präsenz in Person. Ich könnte schwören, dass man seine Energie schon lange vorher gespürt hat, bevor er überhaupt ankam.
Und dann war er endlich da! Strahlendes Lächeln, wie man es aus dem Fernsehen kennt, in bester Laune und voller Schelmhaftigkeit, dass er auf den für ihn reservierten und geschmückten Thron. Aufmerksam hörte er zu, als die großen Kinder zu seiner Ehre den Long Life Prayer vortragten, Geshe Tsewang, der Präsident des NIBD, über das Institut berichtete und dann die zwei Nepalesischen Jungen erwähnte, die vor Kurzem im Institut aufgenommen wurden und welche auf traumatische Weise ihre Eltern verloren hatten.
His Holiness bat daraufhin die beiden Kinder nach vorne und sie durften ihm die Hand schütteln, eine sehr große Ehre. Und was für eine tolle Geste. In diesem Moment war ich mal wieder erstaunt über das große Herz dieses Menschen.
Aber auch der Humor des Dalai Lama ist jedes mal eine Erheiterung und ist absolut ansteckend! Für sein Lachen ist er weltweit bekannt und ich muss ehrlich sagen, dass dies ihn umso sympathischer und liebenswerter macht. Sein Humor ist so extrem menschen nah und man merkt wirklich, wie er ja selbst immer wieder versichert, dass er auch nur ein Mensch ist, wenn jedoch ein sehr besonderer meiner Meinung nach. Sein schelmenhafter Humor kam deutlich zum Vorschein, als er Geste Tsewang, welcher die Rede des Dalai Lama, von Tibetisch auf Ladakhi übersetzte, die Muttersprache der Dorfbewohner, die alle anwesend waren. Geshe Tsewang hat anscheinend ein paar kleine Dinge nicht hundert prozentig übersetzt und da gab es gleich mal einen über die Rübe, freundschaftlich und liebevoll natürlich. Geshe Tsewang kommentierte dies später als große Ehre und besondere Segnung und lachte sich dabei eins ins Fäustchen.
Gegen Ende des ca. einstündigen Aufenthaltes des Dalai Lama hat dieser noch ein Bäumchen gepflanzt und ist dann weiter zum nächsten Termin.
An diese eine Stunde jedoch, in welcher ich den Dalai Lama live erleben durfte, wird wohl immer in meiner Erinnerung bleiben. Was für eine besondere Person!!
Denise Woelpern

Denise Zeit in Saboo

Ich war insgesamt fast vier Monate in Saboo, Ladakh und diese waren einige der einprägsamsten die ich erleben durfte: fast fünfzig unglaublich herzliche, Energie geladene und vor Fröhlichkeit sprühende Kinder, in sich ruhende und gelassene Mönche, umgeben von der buddhistischen Philosophie und das alles in einer der schönsten und faszinierendsten Landschaften, die ich je gesehen habe.
Dies ist ein großer Kontrast gewesen zu dem, wie wir im Westen zum großen Teil leben und es hat mir sehr die Augen geöffnet, Wasser als knappe Ressource, sich flexibel an Gegebenheiten anpassen müssen, den Kühen auf der Straße den Vorrang lassen und dann vor allem aber zu sehen, wie die Kleinen aus einfachsten Plastikkappen und Bändern Spielzeug basteln. Ich bin einfach nur dankbar, dass ich das erleben durfte.
Das Unterrichten hat sehr viel Spaß gemacht. Aber vor allem in der Freizeit mit den Kindern Volleyball zu spielen und Gesangsunterricht zu geben und hier deren Talente individuell etwas fördern zu können und sie sich kreativ ausleben zu lassen war echt toll mitzuerleben.
Mein Aufenthalt und Eindrücke als Volunteer am NIBD und die vielen Kinder habe ich sehr in mein Herz geschlossen und ich freue mich jetzt schon auf meinen nächsten Besuch. Man ist so herzlich aufgenommen worden und wie von den Lamas und Geshes versichert, Teil der Familie.
Eure Denise